The uncanny irony of technology

If someone asks me what I do, I have a long list.  Writer, photographer, intuitive writing coach, assistant director of marketing. To me life is art and everything I do. So now I think I’ll just say I’m an artist to keep that list short!

I currently work full time for a Native American food company based on the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation in South Dakota. In fact, I temporarily live there now. I’m from Dallas, TX, where I was telecommuting for the company for over two years. At the end of 2012, I rented my house out with plans to move to California. I ended up in South Dakota instead. I wanted to work in person with the people behind the voices, Skype video chats and emails. And I wanted to experience where they live and cover stories happening around the reservation — in person.

It has now been three months in South Dakota and I haven’t blogged. That is until the irony of technology came into view. Mercury is in retrograde after all and, as is the prediction every time this happens, technology and communication seems to go all wonky. So in that vein, even though I knew that my old jenicejohnson.com website over at posterous.com was possibly in jeopardy, it will officially get sacked in the coming weeks. The host site has partnered with Twitter and closing up shop on April 30 leaving me to scramble to get another site in place before then. Having a URL leaves the door open to getting hired for side work but also blogging is an easy way, next to Facebook, to share your story.

The ironic part is I had planned to blog a little bit about my time in South Dakota, mostly referencing the event coverage I do here every week. When I started looking at my site on posterous, I felt I needed to start fresh because I was no longer in Dallas as well as the blog needed to reflect something else. Not sure what yet! Just a new direction. However I had finally got that site how I wanted and now my hand is forced to in fact, start over.

Worst things, of course. But I thought I would share before I continued in this new space. Enjoy the photo below I shot of a South Dakota sunset. On to a new day….

DSC_0023

Categories: Artist, Change | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

