Walking in a Spring Wonderland

I’ve said it before, but just in case this is the first thing you have read here, I’m from Texas.

I grew up in the Dallas/Fort Worth area and when winter came around, in my entire life, I’ve probably seen snow there five times. I’m 35. And even when we got snow, it wasn’t the big fluffy stuff. It was mostly ice and I remember making a miniature snowman which might as well have been called an iceman. And I sculpted it inside because I remember being sick and wasn’t allowed outside. But I’ve gone off topic. The deal is big, fluffy movie-scene snow was something I saw once. A few years back. And I was in wonder of it.

Well, the last few days in South Dakota I’ve experienced a whopping 24 inches of snow.

Image

Yes, this is my car.

I’ve never seen this much snow in my life. And guess what? It’s supposedly spring. This crazy weather broke some kind of record. We have been snowed-in for the last few days.

I tried shoveling yesterday but as soon as I did, it just built right back up a few hours later and at least another foot this morning. The snow was up to my knees and to me that was pretty surreal.

DSC_1261

I decided to take a little walk (and I mean little for fear of slipping and falling into the street)  and snapped some photos. I looked at all that beauty and all I wanted was a snowball fight. I’ve never had one.

DSC_1244

DSC_1232

I also enjoyed watching my favorite Rez dogs run in the snow…Although Fat Puppy (the dog in the front in this photo) didn’t appreciate my trying to have a snowball fight with him.

DSC_1191

DSC_1247

I love this pic of Holly. She kept stopping when I stopped and looked over her shoulder to see if I was following. She carefully walked on the path as if to lead me through it. She watches over people around here and I appreciate it.

Later in the day I had a nice chat and tea with a woman staying next door to me. And a kind soul shoveled my porch.

Not a bad day at all.

Categories: Day in the Life | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

